Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

Beyond

 

It’s amazing how quickly one’s body adjusts to warm climates and how slowly one acclimates to cold. In Vietnam last year, I missed winter. I should clarify, Hanoi has winter. It gets to about 40-50 degrees Fahrenheit, not fatal to a midwesterner but the chilly humidity sits in your bones. Last year, we had no hot water in which to shower and most houses are poorly heated. What I missed was the drastic change of seasons Minnesota offered. Now, as I am struggling to re-acclimate to winter, I realize what I missed: the clarity of the light in the afternoons, just as the sun begins to sink around 3 or 4:00 pm. The light becomes rose-gold and the trees cast long indigo shadows across the snow.

In this photograph, the maple tree frames the illuminated branches in the distance, which are more interesting than the tree itself.

Weekly Photo Challenge: My Morning Hibiscus

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

Weekly Photo Challenge Merge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

Millenium Park, Ansel Adams and Reflections (Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections)

Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

Weekly Photo Challenge: 2012 in Review

Weekly Photo Challenge is a WordPress-organized series. Each week, there is a different photographic theme. This week’s theme is beyond. I’ll tag each post with “postaday” and “weekly photo challenge: [insert theme].”

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challege: Love | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  2. Pingback: A Kaleidoscope’s Eye View (Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique) | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the details | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

Leave a Reply

