Here’s to hoping for a better future

20121106-093510.jpg

In 2008, I spent fall semester studying at the Sorbonne in Paris. The first question my host mother asked my when I arrived was, “Pourquoi Sarah Palin? Why Sarah Palin?” I could only shrug and reply, “Je ne sais pas. I don’t know.”

Two months later, I stood on a street near the Opéra with a few American friends. The street, lined with American bars including the famous Harry’s Bar, was crowded with Americans and French and film crews from Frenh news stations. Tickets to celebrate the election inside the bars were overpriced and sold out so we stood on the sidewalk, watching CNN on a television turned toward the window and explaining the electoral college to two older men from Alsace as Wolf Blitzer holographed other pundits into the studio.

The next morning, I bought three newspapers, Le Monde, Libération and Le Canard Enchaîne, at the kiosk near Rue du Bac metro before heading to school. They are the three most important things I saved from that semester and I rode the metro that morning giddy and grinning like a lunatic. I had voted absentee in my first presidential election and my candidate won.

Here’s hoping we get four more years of progress.

3 thoughts on “Here’s to hoping for a better future

  1. I did the same thing in China in 2008! I bought the Chinese newspaper with Obama’s giant face on it; unfortunately now it’s lost at home somewhere among the boxes of my room. I wanted to do it again this year in Paris but was in London the day the results were announced (and an English newspaper isn’t as exciting a keepsake as a French one)!

    • Cool! I’d love to see a Chinese one. I was a little disappointed I didn’t get to buy the Vietnamese papers but this was the first time I’ve not had to vote absentee in a presidential election. How do the French feel about Obama’s reelection? They were thrilled the first time around.

      • I’m not sure to be honest, my French isn’t great, but I’m sure they’re pleased. They’ve had a lot to focus on atm too with Hollande and their recent state of the union address.

Leave a Reply

