Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

Walking back from the library a few weeks ago, I snapped this picture of a woman reading. I liked the way the sun highlighted her head, emphasizing her silhouette. I was surprised (and pleased) that it turned out so well.

Reading is the easiest excuse to be alone. People seem to think it’s strange that I like to be alone, especially when they discover that I prefer to travel alone. I used to give excuses and try to explain my preference for solitude but I no longer do. As Jane Eyre said, “I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more I will respect myself.”

Weekly Photo Challenge: My Morning Hibiscus

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

Weekly Photo Challenge Merge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

Weekly Photo Challenge is a WordPress-organized series. Each week, there is a different photographic theme. This week’s theme is near and far. I’ll tag each post with “postaday” and “weekly photo challenge: [insert theme].”

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Solitary « Cheryl Andrews

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Solitary « Cheryl Andrews

  3. Pingback: Millenium Park, Ansel Adams and Reflections « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

Leave a Reply

