Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

20120831-181515.jpg

It is nearly impossible to represent the theme “urban” in Columbus, Indiana. I was, in fact, so dismayed by this week’s theme that I almost didn’t participate in the weekly photo challenge.

Fortunately, last Saturday was the town’s annual art fair. I love art fairs, with their intrinsic mix of carefully crafted pieces and overwhelming amount of truly terrible artwork. (Usually, I come away from an art fair with twenty new ideas about how to curate a museum of bad art). But it was nice, strolling up and down a barricaded Washington Street lined with artists’s tents, looking at handmade ceramics, delicately crafted silver rings and whimsically carved wooden salad tossers.

Art and art fairs are not necessarily urban; the Wyeths, after all, came from Maine. But I associate art with cities because my earliest memories of museums are from the Art Institute of Chicago, from the city of Chicago itself, serenaded my saxophone players along Michigan Avenue. And, in Minneapolis, painters copying work in the public museum; artists painting along the Seine and near the Canal St-Martin in Paris. I imagine that it is only in a city–or a small town art fair–that I could walk down a busy street and see artists at work.

Weekly Photo Challenge: My Morning Hibiscus

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

Weekly Photo Challenge Merge

Weekly Photo Challenge is a WordPress-organized series. Each week, there is a different photographic theme. This week’s theme is urban. I’ll tag each post with “postaday” and “weekly photo challenge: [insert theme].”

 

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Big « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  11. Pingback: Millenium Park, Ansel Adams and Reflections « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise « Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  13. Pingback: 2012 In Review, or a weekly photo challenge | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challege: Love | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  17. Pingback: A Kaleidoscope’s Eye View (Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique) | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  19. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the details | Someone told me there'd be wild things.

Leave a Reply

